[rev_slider main-slider]


The South Florida and Caribbean Cooperative Ecosystems Studies Unit (SFC CESU) hosted by the Institute of Environment at Florida International University is one of the 17 CESUs created by the federal government under the leadership of the Department of the Interior to provide assistance to managers in federal land management, environmental and research agencies. The South Florida and Caribbean Cooperative Ecosystems Studies Unit, formed in 2000 and renewed in 2005, 2010, and 2015, is a partnership between nine federal agencies and 21 academic institutions and NGOs:

Federal Partners (contact list here)

[rev_slider partners]


The ecosystems covered by this proposal will include the terrestrial and coastal ecosystems of South Florida (Everglades, Florida Bay, Ten Thousand Islands Area, Biscayne Bay), the marine resources including the Florida Keys from the Dry Tortugas to West Palm Beach, and the marine and terrestrial resources of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The members of the SFC CESU have an international reputation for excellence in the study of the marine environment. This includes the 9 federal partners as well as the 21 non-federal partners listed above.